"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Thursday, December 8th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Chatfield, Preston and Ostrander receive grants

Fri, Jun 12th, 2009
Posted in Government

Southeastern Minnesota Develpment Corporation (SEMDC), in partnership with Semcac awarded a $474,200 in Small Cities Development Program Grant. The grant will assist the following communities: Ostrander, Preston, and Chatfield to help pay for improvements to housing, commercial and rental property.

Ostrander has been awarded funds to rehab eight owner occupied homes for low to moderate income households. Preston's funds will be for the purpose of rehabbing four commercial properties and four rental units in the downtown target area. The City of Chatfield will also be rehabbing four commercial properties in their downtown target section. Applications will be taken after the Environmental Clearance and notification of release of funds has been received from DEED.

The grants were awarded under the Small Cities Development Program through funding from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

These grants are important to Minnesota communities because they contribute to better housing, improved living conditions and expanded economic opportunities.

The program, which is administered by DEED, makes grants available to cities and townships with populations under 50,000 and counties with populations under 200,000.

Funding is awarded for housing projects, specifically for rehabilitating existing housing stock for low-to moderate-income residents; public facilities, including wastewater treatment projects, storm sewer and streets; and comprehensive projects that include housing and public facilities for multiple communities and rehabilitation of local commercial districts.

SEMDC and Semcac are working together on Small Cities Development Program Applications. SEMDC has twenty years of successfully authoring SCDP grant applications through DEED.

SEMDC is a private, non-profit agency that has been in existence for 23 years successfully providing a variety of services to counties and communities in Southeast Minnesota, including: assisting businesses in start-ups, expansions and relocations; assisting communities with their infrastructure financing; assisting with Small Cities Development Program Applications and Administration; assisting entrepreneurs in business plan creation, financial packaging, marketing and cash flow analysis; assisting communities and developers with assisted, senior, work-force and market-rate housing throughout the area; assisting communities with grant writing expertise; strategic planning and other economic and development issues.

SEMDC continues a relationship as a satellite office of the Small Business Development Center, assisting lending institutions with financial packaging that includes: SBA loans, conventional bank financing and local revolving loan fund processing. SEMDC also assists clients in marketing, business planning creation/updating and training. These confidential, one-on-one services are at no cost to the client.

Through the Community Support Program, SEMDC currently assists 15 communities and five county organizations with their economic and community development needs. SEMDC currently has affiliations with Houston, Fillmore, Goodhue, Dodge and Winona Counties as well as the cities of Chatfield, Eyota, St Charles, Lake City, Blooming Prairie, Rushford, LeRoy, Mabel, West Concord, Caledonia, Harmony, Preston, Grand Meadow, Spring Valley, and Rushford Village.

SEMDC is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors that consists of: Brian Krambeer - President/CEO of Tri-County Electric; Bill Rohe - CEO of Security State Bank; Mike Jones - City Administrator, City of Blooming Prairie; Art Raak - CPA at Wolter and Raak; Dwayne Lee - Director of Business Development of the SBA 504 Corporation; Mark McGrory - Senior Vice President of Merchants Bank; Richard Bodensteiner - Vice President of Manufacturing, Hearth & Home Technologies; Cheri Kramer - Chief Administrative Officer, Lake City Medical Center-Mayo Health Systems; Mike Tuohy - Chairman, Tuohy Furniture; and Jim Hoiness - owner, Rushford, Preston and Harmony Foods.

SEMDC is committed to remaining progressive and proactive as a strong economic development agency in this area. SEMDC can be contacted at 507-867-3164 or ron.zeigler@semdc.com

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.