"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Tuesday, December 6th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

New Minnesota Teacher of the Year to be named Sunday, May 2

Tue, Apr 27th, 2010
Posted in State of Minnesota

St. Paul, Minn., April 27, 2010 - The 2010 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be named this Sunday, May 2. Amber Damm, 2009 Teacher of the Year, will name her successor at the annual Teacher of the Year banquet at The Northland Inn in Brooklyn Park. The Teacher of the Year will be selected from the attached list of 10 finalists by a panel of civic and business leaders.

The Minnesota Teacher of the Year program is a celebration of Minnesota's tradition of excellence in education. The program is in its 46th year and is open to all licensed teachers in the state. Teachers are nominated by the general public, including students, parents, colleagues, community members and through self-nomination. There were 107 candidates in this year's original field.

What: Announcement of Minnesota Teacher of the Year

When: Sunday, May 2. Banquet from 1-3 p.m.- estimated announcement at 2:30 p.m.

Reporters are advised to arrive by 2 p.m.

Where: Grand Ballroom

The Northland Inn

Boone Ave. North and Interstate 694/94

Brooklyn Park, MN

Additional Details for News Media:

· The Teacher of the Year will be available for media interviews immediately following the banquet and during the week of May 3. You may also want to note that Tuesday, May 4, is National Teacher Appreciation day. That fact may provide a good lead-in for your news stories.

· Please contact Lonnie Hartley to schedule interview appointments.



Eden Prairie




Saint Paul

South Washington County

South Washington County

West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan



Marcia Nelson

Zong Heng

Richard Halterman

Matthew McCartney

Joe Bartos

Ryan Vernosh

Phil Bratnober

Regina Seabrook

Ikhlas Abdelkhalig

Dwayne Voegeli

Subject, Grade(s)

English, 11-12

Elementary, 4

Science, 9-12

Elementary, 5

Elementary, 4

Elementary, 6

English, 10-12

Social Studies, 10

Elementary, 1

Social Studies


Crossroads Alternative High School

Forest Hills Elementary School

Montevideo High School

Washington Elementary School

Little Canada Elementary School

Maxfield Magnet School

Woodbury High School

Woodbury High School

Pilot Knob Elementary School

Winona Senior High School

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.