"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Sunday, December 4th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞


Thu, Apr 29th, 2010
Posted in State of Minnesota

ST. PAUL - The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) today requested six counties be added to the major disaster declaration for spring flooding.

In a letter to FEMA, HSEM requested Cottonwood, McLeod, Pennington, Ramsey, Red Lake and Stevens counties, as well as the Prairie Island Tribal Community, be added to the disaster declaration after an additional $3.1 million in costs and damages were discovered. Teams of local, state and federal officials surveyed additional damages earlier this week. Some of these areas remained under water during the initial damage assessment conducted in early April.

Governor Tim Pawlenty secured a major disaster declaration for 18 counties affected by spring flooding on April 19. That declaration includes two categories of aid:

Public Assistance: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. This applies within the counties in the disaster area.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All counties in the State of Minnesota are eligible to apply for assistance under this program.

Additional counties can be added to existing disaster declarations by FEMA officials. The request does not need presidential approval.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.