Boots & Badges
Letterwerks Sign City
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Saturday, December 3rd, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞


Tue, May 4th, 2010
Posted in State of Minnesota

Washington, DC- Today at a press conference with Vice President Joe Biden and U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius, Congressman Walz announced that Mayo Clinic was selected as 1 of 15 communities nationally to serve as a pilot project for health information technology (IT). Mayo Clinic will receive $12 million to spur job creation in the growing health IT industry while helping the nation learn how to improve the quality of care at reduced cost.

"Mayo Clinic has been a national leader in using health information technology to reduce cost, give better care to patients, and spur the growth of our local economy," said Walz. "Today's announcement means the Mayo Clinic will play a critical role in not only improving the care of patients across the country, but creating good-paying jobs in our communities that will help grow the economy of southern Minnesota."

"With this grant, we will be able to implement health information technology standards to securely exchange information on childhood asthma and diabetes for an 11-county region of Southeast Minnesota," said Nina Schwenk, M.D. , Vice-President of Integration for Mayo Clinic, and Chair of the Mayo Clinic Information Technology Committee.

"These funds will help initiate a Healthcare Information Technology Collaboration that will bring Mayo Clinic together with other health providers, public health departments, Veteran's Administration clinic and the Prairie Island Indian Reservation to adopt meaningful use health information technology standards that can eventually be expanded beyond childhood asthma and diabetes," Schwenk added.

The selected Beacon Communities will use health IT resources within their community as a foundation for bringing doctors, hospitals, community health programs, federal programs and patients together to design new ways of improving quality and efficiency to benefit patients and taxpayers. Each Beacon Community has elected specific and measurable improvement goals in each of three vital areas for health systems improvement: quality, cost-efficiency, and population health.

This award is funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, also referred to as the "Stimulus."

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.

Foods Weekly Ads
Studio A Photography