Boots & Badges
Letterwerks Sign City
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Sunday, September 25th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Winslow wins Minnesota Farm Bureau collegiate discussion meet

Fri, Dec 13th, 2013
Posted in All Agriculture

THE MINNESOTA FARM Bureau Federation held their ninth annual Collegiate Discussion Meet at the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities on November 14. Katie Winslow of Fountain won the competition receiving a $500 scholarship from the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation and advancing to the American Farm Bureau Federation’s national Collegiate Discussion Meet competition in February. Pictured are the participants, left to right: Jared Luhman of Goodhue, Katie Winslow of Fountain, Lisa Roker of Bird Island, Michaela Gallup of Dassel, Kirby Schmidt of Marshall and Sarah Marketon of Howard Lake.

The Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation hosted the ninth annual Minnesota Collegiate Discussion Meet. The competition was held Thursday, November 15 on the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities campus.

Six undergraduate students from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities participated. Students participated in two rounds and a final and were judged on their basic knowledge of critical farm issues, and their ability to exchange ideas and information in a setting aimed at cooperative problem solving. The contestants discussed three topics:

What can be done to encourage young farmers and ranchers to return home to the farm if it means living in a rural area that does not provide the same amenities as a metropolitan community?

How should the Farm Bureau help prepare its members – both young and old – for transferring operations to the next generation of farmers and ranchers? What is Farm Bureau’s role in encouraging more transfers?

How can Farm Bureau play a role to ensure the viability of quality agricultural education programs within our schools?

This year’s winner was Katie Winslow from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. Winslow is from Fountain, Minn. in Fillmore County. She is a junior majoring in agricultural education.

The state winner receives an all expense paid trip to the American Farm Bureau Federation’s (AFBF) Young Farmers & Ranchers Conference in Virginia Beach, Va., February 7-10, 2014 to participate in the national competition. The winner also receives a $500 scholarship from the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation.

Other finalists included: Jared Luhman of Goodhue, Minn., Sarah Marketon of Howard Lake, Minn., and Kirby Schmidt of Marshall, Minn. Finalists receive a $100 scholarship from the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation. Other participants included Michaela Gallup of Dassel and Lisa Roker of Bird Island.

Minnesota Farm Bureau representing Farmers • Families • Food is comprised of 78 local Farm Bureaus across Minnesota. Members make their views known to political leaders, state government officials, special interest groups and the general public. Programs for young farmers and ranchers develop leadership skills and improve farm management. Promotion and Education Committee members work with programs such as Ag in the Classroom and safety education for children. Join Farm Bureau today and support our efforts to serve as an advocate for rural Minnesota,

For more information on the Minnesota Farm Bureau log onto, or

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.

Studio A Photography