"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Tuesday, August 30th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

2009 Minnesota Quality Award Celebrates Excellence

Tue, Jun 1st, 2010
Posted in State of Minnesota

MINNEAPOLIS, May 20, 2010 - The Minnesota Council for Quality honored Workforce Development, Inc. and eight other recipients of the 2009 Quality Award, which recognizes Minnesota's leading organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to continuous improvement and sustained superior results. The award is based on the Malcolm Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence and is the culmination of a rigorous evaluation of an organization's management system. Evaluation criteria includes leadership, planning, customer-related processes, measurement systems, workforce engagement, and core processes.

Commenting on Tuesday's awards ceremony, Brian Lassiter, president of the Minnesota Council for Quality said, "Today we heard from many organizations that are on the journey to excellence - businesses, schools, healthcare organizations, and non-profit agencies. These organizations have committed leaders, visions for the future, and a sharp focus on their customers and stakeholders. Their efforts are improving productivity, competitiveness, and outcomes of Minnesota organizations."

All nine award recipients were recognized Tuesday evening in a celebration at the Landmark Center in St. Paul, attended by nearly 350 Minnesota leaders.

"Tough economic times often mean organizations retreat to past practice," said Lynn Willenbring, Chair of the Minnesota Council for Quality Board of Directors and CIO for the City of Minneapolis. "The organizations recognized at the 19th Annual Minnesota Quality Awards are leaders who have proven that dedication to quality promotes sustained success."

There are four award categories - commitment, advancement, achievement and excellence - to honor the appropriate stage of their improvement journey. Since 1991, 114 Minnesota organizations have received recognition.

The complete listing of 2009 Minnesota Quality Award Winners includes:

Albert Lea Medical Center, Albert Lea (Achievement Level)

Austin Medical Center, Austin (Advancement Level)

Benedictine Health System, Duluth (Achievement Level)

Cardinal of Minnesota, Rochester (Advancement Level)

Dover-Eyota Schools, Eyota (Commitment Level)

Minneapolis VA Medical Center (Achievement Level)

Rochester Community & Technical College (Achievement Level)

State of Minnesota, Dept of Human Services, Chemical & Mental Health Services Administration (Commitment Level)

Workforce Development, Inc. (Commitment Level)

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.