Boots & Badges
Letterwerks Sign City
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Friday, December 9th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞


Tue, Jun 15th, 2010
Posted in Business Announcements

Rushford, MN (3:30 p.m. June 15, 2010)- Tri-County Electric Cooperative (TEC) recently awarded $22,250 in scholarship to 48 local high school students. Since 1991 the cooperative has given $172,437 to area high school graduates.

The money for the scholarships is funded through unclaimed capital credits. The cooperative is a non-profit organization where margins remaining after the cost of providing electric service are returned to members as capital credits. TEC attempts to contact owners of the capital credits for seven years before the capital credits are considered unclaimed.

Scholarship recipients are chosen by their high school to receive TEC's scholarships. TEC issues the unclaimed capital credits to 16 school districts within its service territory. The amount of unclaimed capital credits issued to each school is determined by the number of TEC members residing in the school's district.

Recipients of this year's TEC scholarships are:

Caledonia High School: Marisa Bruening, Brandon Cordes, Troy Frank, Dylan Klein, Kelsey Konkel and Kayla McCormick

Chosen Valley High School: Kelsey Tangen and Jeffrey Meyer

Fillmore Central High School: David Berg, Tyler Fleming, Benjamin Grant, Jacob Prinsen and Ryan Quanrud

Houston High School: Troy Fitting, Mackenzie Fitting, Joe Hongerholt, Luke Jerviss and Carlie Von Arx

Kingsland High School: Kaine Kaase, Jenna Rindels and Natasha Root

La Crescent High School: Marshall Bauer, Alyssa Blank and William Wermager

Lanesboro High School: Grace Glor and Aimee Nelson

LeRoy-Ostrander High School: Megan Hockens and Jesse Rannells

Lewiston-Altura High School: Ashton Bain and Heather Thesing

Mabel-Canton High School:, Laura Halverson, Ryan Nelson and Kayla O'Bieglo

Rushford-Peterson High School: Levi Brown, Michelle Courrier and Melissa Olson

St. Charles High School: Mary Sackreiter and Jason Troendle

Spring Grove High School: Lindsey Bratland and Kjersti Fried

Winona Cotter High School: Rebecca McCormick

Winona Senior High School: Viviane Bain, Erik Chapman, Shauna Mahoney, Derek McMartin, Tyler Tasca, Tyler Vaughn and Ryan Whalen

Tri-County Electric Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving three counties in Minnesota including Winona, Houston and Fillmore and parts of Olmsted and Mower counties in Minnesota and Howard, Winneshiek and Allamakee counties in Iowa. It provides electricity to more than 12,800 services in the area. TEC is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.

Foods Weekly Ads
Studio A Photography