Boots & Badges
Letterwerks Sign City
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Friday, December 9th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Tri-County Electric Awards $18,200 in Scholarships

Fri, Jun 14th, 2013
Posted in Rushford Education

RUSHFORD, Minn. — Tri-County Electric Cooperative (TEC) recently awarded $18,200 in scholarships to 47 local high school students. Since 1991 the cooperative has given $229,387 to area high school graduates.

The money for the scholarships is funded through unclaimed capital credits. The cooperative is a non-profit organization where margins remaining after the cost of providing electric service are returned to members as capital credits. TEC attempts to contact owners of the capital credits for seven years before the capital credits are considered unclaimed.

Scholarship recipients are chosen by their high school to receive TEC’s scholarships. TEC issues the unclaimed capital credits to 17 school districts within its service territory. The amount of unclaimed capital credits issued to each school is determined by the number of TEC members residing in the school’s district.

Recipients of this year’s TEC scholarships are:

Caledonia High School: Angela Augedahl, daughter of Aaron and Paula Augedahl; Derek Klein, son of Darlene Klein; Matthew Meyer, son of Jeff and Tammy Meyer; Hannah Russert, daughter of Judy Russert and Bryan Russert; and Levi Schmitz, son of Rob and Ann Schmitz.

Chosen Valley High School: Jacob Eickhoff, son of Robert and Connie Eickhoff; and Jonn Hansen, son of Stephen and Connie Hansen.

Cotter High School: Nicole Roberton, daughter of James and Michelle Roberton.

Fillmore Central High School: Andrew Coyle, son of John and Jackie Coyle; Cody Hendrickson, son of Scott and Laurie Hendrickson; Adam McCabe, son of Jerry and Pam McCabe; Jordan O’Connor, son of John O’Connor; and Jacob Ristau, son of Marvin and Brenda Ristau

Hope Lutheran High School: Maddy Tucker, daughter of Rich Tucker

Houston High School: Kennedy Chiglo, daughter of Terry and Deb Chiglo; and Casey Fitting, daughter of Dean and Melissa Fitting.

Kingsland High School: Kaitlin Apenhorst, daughter of Karen Apenhorst and Daniel Apenhorst; Gabriel Drees, son of Ralph and Kersten Drees; Justin Kraling, son of Randy and Yvonne Kraling; and Nicole Shorter, daughter of Todd Shorter and Vicky Shorter.

La Crescent High School: Casey Mickschl, son of Jim and Penny Mickschl; Jacob Panten, son of Karen Panten; and Kasey Pesch, daughter of John and Carol Pesch

Lanesboro High School: Ashley Bue, daughter of Harvey and Anita Bue; and Michael Holst, son of Tom and Sue Holst.

LeRoy-Ostrander High School: Amber Hockens, daughter of Dan and Kristy Hockens; and Taylor Norby, daughter of Mike and Kirstin Norby.

Lewiston-Altura High School: Eryn Orth, daughter of Jim and Laurie Orth; and Nicholas Puetz, son of Gary Puetz and Teresa Puetz.

Mabel-Canton High School: Logan Henry, son of Craig and Tricia Henry; Kayla Phillips, daughter of Stacy Phillips; and Christy Welscher, daughter of Harley and Deanna Welscher.

Rushford-Peterson High School: Greg Johnson, son of Dan Kleist; Philip O’Shaughnessy, son of John and Frannie O’Shaughnessy; and Megan Schossow, daughter of Ellen Eliason.

St. Charles High School: Ethan Mundt, son of Robert and Susan Mundt; and Cole Sanders, son of Brian and Teresa Sanders.

Spring Grove High School: Brandon Schuttemeier, son of Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Schuttemeier; and Angelica Spinden, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Leon Spinden.

Stewartville High School: Nicole Skifton, daughter of Paul and Mary Skifton.

Winona Senior High School: Dylan Antoff, son of Scott Antoff and Carla Erickson; Justin Antoff, son of Scott Antoff and Carla Erickson; Emmet Hedin, son of Jack Hedin and Jenny McHugh; Melissa Jackels, daughter of Scott and Lori Jackels; Melissa Peterson, daughter of Warren and Wendy Peterson; Emily Riedemann, daughter of Gerald and Debra Riedemann; and Chelsea Schossow, daughter of Keith Schossow and Cynthia Terrill.

TEC is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving three counties in Minnesota including Winona, Houston and Fillmore and parts of Olmsted and Mower counties in Minnesota and Howard, Winneshiek and Allamakee counties in Iowa. It provides electricity to more than 12,800 services in the area. TEC is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.

Foods Weekly Ads
Studio A Photography