Letterwerks Sign City
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Saturday, December 10th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Fillmore County 4-H horse project

Fri, Jan 25th, 2013
Posted in All Agriculture

University of Minnesota Extension – Fillmore County

The Fillmore County 4-H Horse Project started off the new 4-H year by electing new officers on November 5, 2012. The following offices were filled: Youth Chair- Jackie Apenhorst, Adult Chair- Deb Haugstad; Youth Vice Chair- Austen Whitacre, Adult Vice Chair- Lisa Apenhorst, Youth Secretary- Gabriella Yonts, Adult Secretary- Pam Morrow, Youth Treasurer- Kimberly Morrow, Adult Treasurer- Deb Leutink, Youth Reporters/ Historians- Michala Morrow & Heather Apenhorst, and Adult Reporter/Historian- Jackie Whitacre.

On January 20, 2013 the Fillmore County 4-H Horse Project held its Annual Banquet at the Extension Office in Preston, MN. Members and parents gathered for potluck dinner, project meeting and the annual awards program. Members were presented horse related awards in two categories for participation in the horse project.

Awards for hours spent with their horse went to: Nicole Sebastian, Kira Nelson, Lexie Eberley, Haley Schwinefus, Jackie Apenhorst, Heather Apenhorst, and Jenna Blumer.

Awards for activity participation went to: Lexie Eberley, Jackie Apenhorst, Heather Apenhorst, Jenna Blumer and Haley Schwinefus.

Cloverbud recognition went to: Jolene Leutink and Malia Tessum.

Four other awards categories were voted on by the horse project members after the events of the Fillmore County 4-H Horse Show at the Fillmore County Fair last July and trophies were awarded to the following members for: Most Memorable Ride-Sydney Johnson; Most Improved Riders-Courtney Nelson and Megan Schultz; Herdspersons of the Year-Kira Nelson and Nicole Sebastian; Horse Person of the Year-Nashia Soland.

The next 4-H Horse Project meeting will be March 11, 2013 at 7:00 pm at the Fillmore County Extension Conference Room. All members enrolled in the 4-H horse project are welcome to attend.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.