Perfect Glossy
Letter Werks
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Thursday, October 27th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame seeks nominations

Fri, Jul 13th, 2012
Posted in All Sports

Minneapolis -- The Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame, a new venture featuring some of the most prominent names in Minnesota high school basketball, is seeking nominations for its inaugural class of inductees.

The Hall of Fame plans to promote high school basketball and the values of wholesome competition and sportsmanship, both for boys’ and for girls’ by recognizing outstanding players, coaches, teams, officials, and other contributors from the beginning of high school hoops more than 100 years ago to the present day.

Basketball fans may submit nominations to Bill Bentson (, Ron Haggstrom ( or Kevin Anderson ( Teams and players are subject to a waiting period of 10 years, while coaches and other contributors must have a career consisting of at least 15 years.

Minnesota is the third state to have such a Hall of Fame, following the lead of Indiana and South Dakota. Leaders of the effort include Dean Verdoes, who played for Edgerton’s 1960 state champions and is a retired coach and athletic director at Henry Sibley High School; Erin Herman and Faith Johnson Patterson, girls’ basketball coaches at Hill-Murray and DeLaSalle, respectively. Other state champion coaches involved in the Hall of Fame include Brian Cosgriff, Hopkins girls’; Wendy Kohler, Alexandria girls’; and John Sherman, Minnesota Transitions boys’.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.