Boots & Badges
Letterwerks Sign City
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Monday, September 26th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Tri-County Electric awards $16,950 in scholarships

Fri, Jun 29th, 2012
Posted in Rushford Business Announcements

Rushford, MN— Tri-County Electric Cooperative (TEC) recently awarded $16,950 in scholarship to 47 local high school students. Since 1991 the cooperative has given $211,187 to area high school graduates.

The money for the scholarships is funded through unclaimed capital credits. The cooperative is a non-profit organization where margins remaining after the cost of providing electric service are returned to members as capital credits. TEC attempts to contact owners of the capital credits for seven years before the capital credits are considered unclaimed.

Scholarship recipients are chosen by their high school to receive TEC’s scholarships. TEC issues the unclaimed capital credits to 17 school districts within its service territory. The amount of unclaimed capital credits issued to each school is determined by the number of TEC members residing in the school’s district.

Recipients of this year’s TEC scholarships are:

•Caledonia High School: Kennan Bruening, Ryan Frank, Troy King, Taylor Schulte and Jessica Trudo.

•Chosen Valley High School: Lydia Becker and Erin Kammer.

•Cotter High School: Patrick Cochran.

•Fillmore Central High School: Luke Bergey, Tyler Eickoff, Stephanie Henderickson and Zachary Olstad.

•Houston High School: Erin Chapel, Taylor Laschenski, Katie Olson, Tyler Peplinski and Whitney Wieser.

•Hope Lutheran High School: Curtis Harrison.

•Kingsland High School: Spencer Klevan, Michaela Douglas, Shannon Merkel and Kathleen Roberts.

•La Crescent High School: Cody Beeson, Loralee Onstad and Eric Veglahn.

•Lanesboro High School: Hayley Larson and Katarina Miehlisch.

•Lewiston-Altura High School: Laine Halverson and Michael Unruh.

•Mabel-Canton High School: Amy Adkins, Jacoby Bigalk and Bailey Hanson.

•Rushford-Peterson High School: Anna Hanson, Lindsey Merchlewitz and Fred Scaife.

•St. Charles High School: Benjamin Krause and Katherine Muschler.

•Spring Grove High School: Samuel Ellingson and Derek Johnson.

•Stewartville High School: Danielle DeGeus.

•Winona Senior High School: Gabrielle Anderson, Mark Habeck, Ciara Morcomb, Elias Nagle, Daisy Nottleman, Aimee Olsen and Jordan Tschumper.

TEC is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving three counties in Minnesota including Winona, Houston and Fillmore and parts of Olmsted and Mower counties in Minnesota and Howard, Winneshiek and Allamakee counties in Iowa. It provides electricity to more than 12,800 services in the area. TEC is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.

Studio A Photography