"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Tuesday, October 25th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Boyum and Ryan prevail in primary

Sun, Sep 17th, 2000
Posted in

Monday, September 18, 2000

Incumbent First District Commissioner Donald Boyum out-polled three other candidates to garner the most votes in Tuesday's primary. Boyum will meet Randall Dahl in the general election on November 7. Dahl beat Lyle Meldahl by three votes to take the second spot.

Donald Boyum 281 39.68%
Randall Dahl 139 19.63%
Lyle Meldahl 136 19.20%
Doug Baker 125 17.65%

• Randall Dahl was trailing Lyle Meldahl for second place by three votes with one precinct, Rushford Village, still to report. Dahl beat Meldahl by six votes in Rushford Village, 24 to 18.

• Because of the close vote between Meldahl and Dahl, Meldahl has the right to request a re-count in writing to the county auditor. He has five working days from the time the Board of Canvas meets to make the request.

In District Five, John J. Ryan prevailed over Mark Prestby and Robert Anfinson. Prestby will square off against Ryan on November 7.

John J. Ryan 240 40.16%
Marc Prestby 219 36.80%
Robert Anfinson 114 19.15%

• Ryan trailed Prestby by 50 votes, with one precinct, Harmony City, still to report. Ryan took Harmony by 71 votes, leaving a margin of victory of 21 votes.

Voter turnout. 2581 ballots were cast in the primary. This was 22% of the 11,675 eligible voters in 39 precinct.

Cross-over ballots. Because Tuesday's ballot was a partisan primary, voters were required to vote within party lines. Slightly more than 17% of the ballots, 443 out of 2581, were thrown out because voters crossed party lines in their ballot. Cross-over ballots were counted, however, in commissioner races in District One and Five.

In the Olmsted County side of Chatfield, voters who crossed-over had their ballots rejected by the electronic voting machine, which gave voters the chance to correct their ballot. Because the 39 precincts in Fillmore County use paper ballots, there was no way of knowing the ballot was incorrect until they were tallied.

Board of Canvas. The Board of Canvas, consisting of Fillmore County Commissioners Duane Bakke and Helen Bicknese and County Auditor Angela Burrs met on Thursday, September 14 to validate the primary voting.

Scanner. The new scanner at the courthouse proved to be up to the job on Tuesday. All precinct votes were totalled and posted within three hours of polls closing. In past years, problems with the scanner breaking down kept election judges waiting into the early morning hours.

U.S. Senator voting in Fillmore County

Constitution Party
David Swan 0 0%
Derek Schramm 3 100%

Independent Party
Fred Askew 1 5.88%
Buford Johnson 6 35.29%
Leslie Davis 5 29.41%
James Gibson 5 29.41%

Democratic Party
Ole Savior 11 .90%
Mike Ciresis 163 13.45%
Jerry Janezich 177 14.61%
Hal Dorland 3 .24%
Rebecca Yanisch 317 26.17%
Dick Franson 8 .66%
Gregg Iverson 8 .66%
Mark Dayton 504 41.16%

Republican Party
Rod Gramms 798 87.98%
Bill Dahn 68 7.%

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.