Boots & Badges
Letterwerks Sign City
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Friday, December 9th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Peterson, MN

Sun, Sep 10th, 2000
Posted in

Peterson, nestled in the nar-row Root River Valley, was founded in 1867, when the rail-road was built on land donated for the use by Peter Peterson Haslerud, who settled here in 1853. He owned and platted the village site and was the major force behind the early growth and development of Peterson. A post office was started in 1870 and a dam was built across the river in 1871 where a flour mill ran until it burned in 1877. A feed mill was then built and ran for some time. In 1874, lots were laid out and one of the first trout hatcheries in Minnesota was begun in Peterson. In 1876, the telegraph was brought in and in 1877 the present depot (now the Peterson Station Museum) was erected. Peterson, incorporated in 1909, is located 39 miles west of LaCrosse on Highway 16.

The town has an RV camp located in the city park with electric outlets, water and restrooms. Peterson is surrounded by trout streams and hunting areas and the Root River provides ca-noeing oppor-tunities. Nearby is the Peterson Fish Hatchery, which became opera-tional in 1988.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.

Foods Weekly Ads
Studio A Photography