"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Sunday, October 23rd, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Fillmore County TZD to offer child passenger safety clinic

Fri, Sep 17th, 2010
Posted in Health & Wellness

Preston - Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Week is September 19-25, and Fillmore County Toward Zero Deaths (TZD) Coalition is emphasizing the importance of proper child safety restraint use and the state's new booster seat law to keep children safe while riding in a vehicle. Under Minnesota's new booster seat law, a child cannot ride in a seat belt alone until they turn 8 years of age or reach 4 feet 9 inches tall - whichever comes first.

In the last five years (2005-2009) in Minnesota, 12 vehicle occupants ages four to seven (booster ages) were killed in crashes and 2,257 were injured. From 2005-2009 in Minnesota, only 42 percent of all 4-7 year olds involved in crashes were properly restrained in a child seat or booster seat.

In Minnesota, 83 percent of child restraints are improperly installed. Poor seat belt fit can contribute to serious injury, ejection, and death in traffic crashes. Fines for child safety restraint and booster seat non-use vary, but average around $50.

The Fillmore County TZD Coalition will conduct a child passenger safety seat check clinic for families on Wednesday, September a22, 2010, from 4:30 to 6:30 PM at the Rushford-Peterson Elementary School on the black-topped playground. If inclement weather occurs, the event will be held in the industrial technology garage behind the school. The clinic will serve as an opportunity for parents and caregivers to learn how to install a child safety seat, make sure their seats properly fit their children, or obtain a free child restraint or booster seat if needed. For more information, call Fillmore County Public Health at 507-765-3898.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.