Boots & Badges
Letterwerks Sign City
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Monday, September 26th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞

Greenleaf Angus named 2011 MN Breeder of the year

Fri, Apr 8th, 2011
Posted in Agriculture

Recognized as the 2011 MN Breeder of the Year was Greenleaf Angus, Lavonne and the late Lynn G. Mensink, Preston, MN. Standing: Kevin Behrens (son-in-law), Lori Behrens (daughter), Justin Hanson (grandson), Toni Hanson (granddaughter), Morris Hanson (son-in-law), Len Mensink (son). Next to Lavonne Mensink, her grandson Nick Mensink Photo Provided

Greenleaf Angus, Lavonne and the late Lynn G. Mensink of Preston, were honored by the Minnesota Angus Association as the 2011 Breeder of the Year. The award was presented to Mrs. Mensink by the association and their family by Association President, Dusty Martin of Blue Earth, MN, at the 2011 Association Annual Banquet held March 5 at the Cannon Golf Club in Cannon Falls, MN. The Mensinks have been involved in raising registered Angus cattle for 25 years. Mensink was a dedicated member of the Minnesota Angus Association for many years. Mensink passed away on February 5, 2011, at his home surrounded by his family. He was 67 years old. Mensink will be remembered for his dedication to his faith, his family and his farm.

Junior members were also recognized at the annual banquet for their achievements over the past year. Ellin Stolp of Oronoco receiving an embroidered jacket for the Show Steer of the year. Her steer was named champion at the MN Beef Expo and the MN Spring Classic last year. Also received an embroidered jacket was Matt Purfeerst of Faribault, MN. His heifer received numerous championships throughout 2010 including the Champion Angus Heifer at the MN State Fair Open Angus Show. Two Minnesota Junior members received $500 scholarships from the Association based on their involvement with the Junior Angus Association and scholastic achievement. Chelsey Drysdale of Wabasha and Andrew Scholtz received the scholarships. Selected as Miss Minnesota Angus for 2011 were Stacey Glaess of Cannon Falls and Ellin Stolp of Oronoco. They will represent MN Angus Breeders during the year at various livestock shows and other events.

Prior to the banquet, the association held its annual meeting. Elected to the Board of Directors to a three year term was Robert Nord of Wolverton, MN. Greg Johnson of Pipestone was re-elected to the Board of Directors for his third term. Mark Holman, Fountain, was re-elected to a second term. Following the annual meeting, the board of directors selected their officers. Dusty Martin of Blue Earth will continue for a second year as president. Mark Holmen will also continue on as vice president for his second year. Other members to the board of directors include Dick Walser, Minnesota Lake; Randy Mitteness, Benson; Tom Bullerman, Adrian. Jim Scharpe serves the Association as executive secretary.

The Minnesota Angus Association Auxiliary also held its annual meeting on March 4.

Becky Holmen, Fountain, will take over as vice president and queen chairperson. Other officers include: Kelly Hansen, Marshall, president; Amber Nord, Wolverton, secretary; Kari Scholtz, Comfrey, treasurer; Rebecca Scharpe, Minneapolis, scholarship chairperson ;and Nancy Johnson, Pipestone, ways and means chairperson.

Officers for the MN Junior Angus Association were also elected. Positions on the Junior Board are 2-year terms. This year the positions president and treasurer were up for elections. Matt Purfeerst of Faribault was elected as the new President. Kelsey Glaess of Cannon Falls will take over treasurer duties. Other officers include vice president, Emily Scholtz, Comfrey; secretary, Betsy Hansen, Marshall; membership, Luke Nord, Wolverton and communication Director, Taylor Waugh, Goodhue.

The 94th MN Angus Association State Sale was held the following day. Breeders consigning cattle to the sale have to opportunity to select Breeder Choice Award winners. Prior to the sale, each consigner is given a ballot with the lot numbers of animals divided into five divisions. The consigners then vote for the animal that best meets breed standards. Consigners are asked to consider both phenotype and production when making their selections. The votes are tallied and the winners receive an engraved tray as the Breeders Choice Award for their respective division. Breeders Choice award for Bulls went to Shady Hill Angus, Dusty Martin of Blue Earth. Winning the Heifer diversion was Goose Creek Ranch, Richard Walser of Minnesota Lake. Beckers Angus, David Becker of Askov, claimed the award for Bred Heifers and Cows. Bullerman Angus, Tom and Trisha Bullerman of Adrian, MN received the award for Pen of Open Heifers and Sullivan Angus, Kellogg, MN, was selected as the Breeders Choice award winner for Pen of Bred Heifers. The 41 lots for the 2011 MN State Sale earned $71,505, eight bulls averaged $2,331; eight bred heifers averaged $1,950; 23 open heifers averaged $1,950 and two embryo lots averaged $1,253.

No Comments Yet. Be the first to comment!

Your comment submission is also an acknowledgement that this information may be reprinted in other formats such as the newspaper.

Studio A Photography