Letterwerks Sign City
 
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Sunday, February 14th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞
 
<< | < | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | > | >>

Ask a Trooper - 9.21.15


By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Sep 21st, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: My front license plate fell off recently, am I required to display one? Can I display it up in the front windshield? Why do we need two license plates anyway?

Answer: This is what Minnesota State Statute (M.S.S.) 169.79 says about license plates:

“No person shall operate, drive, or park a motor vehicle on any highway unless the vehicle is registered in accordance with the laws of this state and has the number plates or permit confirming that valid registration or operating authority has been obtained…”

There are some vehicles that are allowed to display only one license plate: motorcycles; a dealer’s vehicle or vehicle in-transit; a collector’s vehicle with a pioneer, classic car, collector, or street rod license; a vehicle that is of model year 1972 or earlier (not registered as a collector vehicle), and is used for general transportation purpose.

License plates cannot be displayed in the front windshield or the rear window, they must be displayed on the front and rear of the vehicle. All plates must be securely fastened so as to prevent them from swinging, displayed horizontally with the identifying numbers and letters facing outward from the vehicle, and mounted in the upright position. The person driving the motor vehicle shall keep the plate legible and unobstructed and free from grease, dust, or other blurring material (dirt, mud, snow, etc.) so that the lettering is plainly visible at all times. It is unlawful to cover any assigned letters and numbers or the name of the state of origin of a license plate with any material, including any clear or colorless material that affects the plate’s visibility or reflectivity. This also includes obstructing license plate brackets that block the state of issuance and tabs.

License plates issued to vehicles must display the month of expiration in the lower left corner of each plate and the year of expiration in the lower right corner of each plate.

Why do we have two license plates? First and foremost, it is the law in Minnesota M.S.S. 169.79. From a law enforcement perspective it is safer to have two plates. For instance…

• If an officer needs to run vehicle information

• It makes a suspect vehicle easier to identify if it is encountered from the front or the rear.

• If a suspect vehicle is backed into a parking spot it is more easily identified.

[Read the Rest]



9

Fillmore County Police Reports

Mon, Sep 21st, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

Fillmore County Sheriff’s Office James Louis Christophe, 26, Blaine, Minn.; 8/11/2015, Expiration of Driver’s License - Over 21, Fine $100, Total Fees $190. Stacy Ann Clingman, 35, Austin, Minn.; 6/22/2015, Driving off Pavement or Travel ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County Police Reports - 9.14.15

Mon, Sep 14th, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

Chatfield Police Department Dawn Marie Jauert, 41, Chatfield, Minn.; 10/2/2014, Driving After Cancel - IPS, Fine $1,000 (stay $500 until 8/24/2017), Total Fees $590. Local Confinement - 365 days (stay 356 days for two years). Serve as: weekends ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper - 9.14.15

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Sep 14th, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

With school starting, this article will be entirely focused on the safety of our children. Traffic safety is a two-way street and everyone has an investment. School bus safety tips for motorists: • Motorists must stop at least 20 feet from a sc ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County Police Reports - 9.7.15

Tue, Sep 8th, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

Chatfield Police Department Jama Aden Dirir, 26, St. Cloud, Minn.; 7/9/2015, Expiration of Driver’s License - Over 21, Fine $100, Total Fees $190. 7/9/2015, Driver Must Carry Proof of Insurance when Operating Vehicle, Fine $200. Fillmore County ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper - 9.7.15

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Tue, Sep 8th, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: Has the law requiring vehicles operated on roadways to have sound suppression devices (mufflers) been changed? I see vehicles with straight pipes, motorcycles with straight pipes, and hear many others that sound as if they have no suppre ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper - 8.31.15

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Aug 31st, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: I was recently pulled over for an equipment violation. On the citation there is a box with “pm, m, gm” with the “pm” circled. I’m curious as to what that indicates. Thank you for your time. Answer: Those boxes indicate the leve ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County Police Reports

Mon, Aug 31st, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

Fillmore County Sheriff’s Office Madeline Rose Dostal, 18, Rochester, Minn.; 7/26/2015, Consumption by Persons Under 21, Fine $100, Total Fees $190. Zachariah Adam Drees, 19, Stewartville, Minn.; 7/26/2015, Consumption by Persons Under 21, Fin ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper - 8.24.15

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Aug 24th, 2015
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: Can you talk about the new increased fine if cited for texting and driving? Answer: Drivers who repeatedly choose texting over safety while behind the wheel risk a higher fine for violating the law. Under the new enhanced law, drivers fa ..... 
[Read the Rest]
<< | < | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | > | >>