Letterwerks Sign City
 
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Tuesday, May 31st, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞
 
< | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | > | >>

Ask a Trooper


By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Apr 25th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: With all this attention to distracted driving recently, I know that a person can “talk” on a cell phone while driving if they are 18 years old or older. I understand that it is illegal for anyone under that age to be “on a cell phone”. Does that apply to a “hands free” device such as a “blue tooth”?

Answer: Anyone under 18 years of age may NOT operate a vehicle while using a cell phone whether handheld or hands free, when the vehicle is in motion – this includes while stopped at a stop sign, stop light or anytime the vehicle is in traffic.

A driver with a provisional license may use a cell phone to call 911 in case of an emergency. The exception of “obtaining emergency assistance” is quite limited in my professional opinion. Calling “911” would be a good example. Calling Mom and Dad to let them know that you are running late should be done before you put the vehicle in motion.

I believe distracted driving is a dangerous epidemic plaguing our roadways and our statistics are reflecting it. Distracted driving contributes to one in four crashes in Minnesota. Ask yourself what the most important text message you ever sent or received. Now ask yourself, is that text worth your life or another life on the road?

Distracted driving education is a component of Minnesota’s core traffic safety program, Toward Zero Deaths (TZD). A primary vision of the TZD program is to create a safe driving culture in Minnesota in which motorists support a goal of zero road fatalities by practicing and promoting safe and smart driving behavior.

Help us put an end to distracted driving. Before you get in the car, put away the phone, adjust your radio and enter your location into your GPS. If you’re a passenger, speak up if someone drives distracted. The life you save may be your own.

If you have any questions concerning traffic related laws or issues in Minnesota, send your questions to Sgt. Troy Christianson – Minnesota State Patrol at 2900 48th Street NW, Rochester, Minn. 55901-5848. (Or reach him at Troy.Christianson@state.mn.us)

Fillmore County Police Reports

Mon, Apr 25th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Fillmore County Sheriff’s Office Leah Marie Broderick, 23, Minneapolis, Minn.; 3/7/2016, Speeding (66/55), Fine $50, Total Fees $140. Tiffany Marie Bryhn, 32, Rochester, Minn.; 3/7/2016, Speeding (66/55), Fine $50, Total Fees $140. Stephen ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Sat, Apr 16th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: What are the requirements for RV triple towing in Minnesota? Answer: With warmer weather around the corner, we are sure to see more RVs and boat trailers on the roads being towed. A recreational vehicle combination may be operated wit ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County Police Reports

Mon, Apr 11th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Chatfield Police Department Cale David Swanson, 28, St. Louis Park, Minn.; 2/1/2016, Unregistered (Vehicle) – Certificate Revoked, Fine $300, Total Fees $390. 2/1/2016, Speeding – Exceed Limit 30 mph – Urban District (48/30), Fine $60. ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Apr 11th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: I just purchased a kayak and had it delivered to my house. I did not think ahead about the length of it for transporting it. I was wondering if a kayak extender is legal in Minnesota? Answer: A kayak extender could be legal if you meet t ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County District Court

Mon, Apr 4th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

On March 21, Gage Anthony Heath, 20, of Lanesboro, appeared before District Court Judge Matthew J. Opat. Heath is charged with Harassment; Restraining Order Violation, a felony with a maximum criminal penalty of five years in prison, a $10,000 fine ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County Police Reports

Mon, Apr 4th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Chatfield Police Department Boyd Winson Charles Nelson, 60, Rochester, Minn.; 2/2/2016, Uninsured Vehicle – Driver Violation, Fine $200, Total Fees $290. Fillmore County Sheriff’s Office Christine Yvette Gurule, 31, Ostrander, Minn.; 1/5/2 ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Apr 4th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: I recently broke my foot and have it in a cast. Am I still allowed to drive? Does it matter which foot it is? Answer: There are not any blanket restrictions, but a physician may restrict a patient “for a temporary condition” on a cas ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Mar 28th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: If a person has a medical exception to a specified window tint level (per medical prescription by medial provider), do you have to register that exception/prescription with the state? Or register the car that has the applied tint? Thank ..... 
[Read the Rest]
< | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | > | >>