Letterwerks Sign City
 
"Where Fillmore County News Comes First"
Online Edition
Saturday, August 27th, 2016
Volume ∞ Issue ∞
 
1 | 2 | 3 | > | >>

Ask a Trooper - 8/22/16


By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Aug 22nd, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: How long has there been a drunk driving law in Minnesota?

Answer: The Minnesota Legislature criminalized DWI in 1911, making “driving while in an intoxicated manner” a misdemeanor. The laws and sanctions addressing DWI have evolved in the past 104 years.

• Evidence of influence was set at .15 Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) in 1917.

• The first civil sanctions for DWI (Implied Consent) began in 1961.

• A per se level of .10 BAC was attached to administrative license sanctions in 1971 (MN was the first state to take such action).

• The concept of BAC changed to Alcohol Concentration (AC) in 1978.

• License plate impoundment began in 1988.

• Test refusal becomes a criminal offense in 1989.

• Child Endangerment enhancement and ‘Not a Drop’ law enacted in 1993.

• High AC (.20+) added as an enhancement in 1997.

• Felony level penalties established in 2001.

• Per se level lowered to .08 AC in 2004.

• Ignition Interlock added in 2010.

• A gross misdemeanor DWI driving offense was lowered to an alcohol concentration of .16 from a .20 in 2015 for first time offenders.

Minnesota’s enhanced DWI enforcement and education efforts are contributing to the reduction of alcohol-related deaths. Drunk driving-related fatalities have decreased by 25% in the past five years (2010 – 2014), yet with 88 deaths caused by drunk drivers in 2014, there is much more work to be done.

We are encouraged by the continued drop in DWIs, but the 25,258 motorists arrested for DWI last year is unacceptable. Currently, more than 600,000 Minnesota residents have a DWI on record — that’s one out of every seven licensed drivers in Minnesota.

The average blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for drivers with a DWI was .15, with the average BAC for a drunk driver involved in a fatal crash being .19.

The legal limit for driving impaired in Minnesota is 0.08 — but motorists can be arrested for DWI at lower levels. A typical penalty for a first-time offender is loss of license for a minimum of 30 days up to a year and possible jail time, although the consequences will vary for each offender. DWI costs can be as high as $20,000 when factoring court costs, legal fees and increased insurance premiums.

You c .....
[Read the Rest]

Police Report - 8/22/16

Mon, Aug 22nd, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Fillmore County Sheriff’s Office Ryan Franklyn Ament, 40, Winona, Minn.; 7/19/2016, Speeding (65/55), Fine $40, Total Fees $130. Keith William Dennler, 56, Forest Lake, Minn.; 7/22/2016, Speeding (65/55), Fine $40, Total Fees $130. Gaylord ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper - 8.15.16

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Aug 15th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Minnesota State Patrol Question: What are the rules when a traffic light is out, because of a power outage for example? I treat them as a four-way stop, which I believe is correct. It seems, however, that not everybody that drives through this ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County Police Reports - 8.15.16

Mon, Aug 15th, 2016
Posted in Chatfield Police Reports

Chatfield Police Department Renae Vanschaick Hisey, 46, Chatfield, Minn.; 5/6/2016, Duty to Drive with Due Care – Speed Greater Than Reasonable, Fine $40, Total Fees $130. Fillmore County Sheriff’s Office Joshua Benjamin Auerbach, 22, Eden ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper - 8/8/16

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Aug 8th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

By Sgt. Troy Christianson Minnesota State Patrol Question: I read about a recent study by the AAA Foundation for traffic safety, found that nearly 80% of drivers expressed significant anger, aggression or road rage behind the wheel at least once ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County Police Reports - 8.8.16

Mon, Aug 8th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Chatfield Police Department Deryck Duane Forbes, 21, Chatfield, Minn.; 6/18/2016, Driving After Revocation, Fine $200, Total Fees $290. Vincent Teej Vang, 31, Minneapolis, Minn.; 6/19/2016, Speeding (55/45), Fine $40, Total Fees $130. Fillmore C ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper - 8.1.16

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Aug 1st, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: I have a question about the number of vehicles a person is allowed to pass at one time? Am I allowed to go over the posted speed limit when I pass a vehicle? Answer: Minnesota law does not state that there are a specific number of vehic ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Fillmore County Police Reports - 8.1.16

Mon, Aug 1st, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Chatfield Police Department Kaitlynn Renee Wing, 20, Rochester, Minn.; 6/9/2016, Speeding – Exceed Limit 30 mph – Urban District (42/30), Fine $50, Total Fees $140. Fillmore County Sheriff’s Office Jack Daniel Arnold, 37, Harmony, Minn.; 5 ..... 
[Read the Rest]

Ask a Trooper - 7.25.16

By Sgt. Troy Christianson

Mon, Jul 25th, 2016
Posted in All Police Reports

Question: Can you talk about railroad crossing safety and the laws that cover it? Answer: I have responded to and investigated a number of train/vehicle crashes in my career. A majority of them resulted in fatal or serious injuries to the vehic ..... 
[Read the Rest]
1 | 2 | 3 | > | >>